What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a list of the sources you have used or will use for an assignment. Each entry in the list is accompanied by an explanation of its usefulness for your work.
Your annotated bibliography should contain the following:
The content of your annotations will vary according to assignment guidelines. Your instructor may require you to:
Please pay careful attention to your assignment requirements – not all annotated bibliographies contain the same information!
Reference: "Annotated Bibliography ". How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography. Marionopolis College. Web. 26 Mar. 2015.
Each entry in your annotated bibliography will have two parts. They are:
Here are examples of an annotated bibliography in MLA format (remeber to use DOUBLE SPACE):
Chrisholm, Patricia. "The ADD dilemma." Maclean's 11 Mar. 1996: 42-44. Print.
This magazine article looks at the use of Ritalin in Canada. Specifically it covers the drug's side effects, why there is so much debate surrounding its use and how teachers have come to rely on it to control problem students. The article is based on information taken from interviews, statistics and studies that were conducted. Overall, it is well written and well researched.
[Notice that the first part of the annotation is descriptive and that the last sentence is a brief evaluation.]
Kirkey, Sharon. "Jury's still out on Ritalin." The Gazette 27 Dec. 2001: A1. Print.
This newspaper article focuses on a study published in the Canadian Medical Association Journal about the short and long-term effects of using Ritalin. The information comes from a reputable source and is based upon fact. This article was useful for my research as it helped support my idea that Ritalin may not be the answer for treating children with ADD.
[Notice that the first few sentences of the annotation discuss the reliability of the article while the last sentence relates to its usefulness.]
Mercogliano, Chris. Teaching the Restless: One School's Remarkable No-Ritalin Approach to Helping Children Learn and Succeed. Boston: Beacon Press, 2003. Print.
Mercogliano describes how depending on medication, such as Ritalin, to treat students with attention deficit disorders may not be the right approach. The book also calls into question how teachers deal with students who have ADD.
[Notice that this entire annotation is descriptive.]
Reference: "How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography · Library "How To" Guides · Help & Instruction · Concordia Libraries." Concordia Libraries. Concordia University. Web. 26 Mar. 2015.